Bus rider.

He said to me today…”Mom, we haven’t missed the bus AT ALL.”

And it’s true. Week three of 1st grade begins and we haven’t missed that big yellow bus once.

Joey loves the bus. He told me so on this first day of kindergarten. More than a year ago though it seems only a heartbeat. He said riding the bus was the best part of the day. Then life got a little hectic and we missed the bus. We missed the bus a lot. He never complained really. He’d tease me sometimes at the end of a week. “Mom, we didn’t ride the bus AT ALL this week,” he’d say with a comically appalled expression on his little face.

He is growing up but he still loves the bus.

And he still waves to me until the bus turns out of sight. We share the hand sign for “I love you” as he sits looking out the window at me. Our fingers silently saying the words.

My little bus rider.

He still waves to me until the bus turns out of sight.

Leave a Reply

